New casting ‘news’ for Rick Flag in 2016’s Suicide Squad

First and foremost, take this ‘news’ with a grain of salt as it is still just a rumour. That being said, this rumour is coming from Latino Review and this guy has a pretty good track record in terms of being a reliable source of news.

So, a few months ago we heard that Tom Hardy dropped out of the role of Rick Flag. Officially for unknown reasons, but word on the street is that he dropped out because the script focuses too much on Will Smith’s Deadshot character.

Now, with their reliable sources, Latino Review has proposed that the star of the 2014 Robocop reboot Joel Kinnaman, will replace Hardy in the role as the Squad’s pseudo leader.

I’m not sure about you guys, but I just can’t see it. I think he did well filling some pretty big shoes in Robocop, however I just don’t think he has the right physique or the charisma to play Rick Flag.

Now I will say, while looking for a header image for this post I came across this image…

4109827-adam+baldwin+as+rick+flag

Ah…Yes!!! Adam Baldwin would be fucking amazing as Rick Flag. We’ve seen Baldwin play a similar rough and tumble character in Firefly/Serenity. Also, fun fact, he was the voice of Rick Flag in the 2013 Batman Arkham Origins: Blackgate video game.

If Kinnaman ends up getting the role, I really hope he proves me wrong. Until we get official casting news from Warner Bro’s, I’m pushing for Adam Baldwin.

Who do you want to play Rick Flag? Kinnaman, Baldwin or someone else entirely? Let me know.

Like my Facebook page to stay up to date with movie news, editorials, rumours and the occasional video https://www.facebook.com/pages/Zac-Currell/1613367442229598?ref=bookmarks

Follow me on Twitter, where I tweet stuff https://twitter.com/Zacmovies

New casting ‘news’ for Rick Flag in 2016’s Suicide Squad

Leave a Reply

