(Spoilers) Avengers: Age of Ultron (like a lot of spoilers)

aou2013001gold

Ok, so this is going to contain spoilers. Like a lot of spoilers. So if you don’t want to read about spoilers, don’t read this. Now that I’ve filled that little void of the start of the post you see before you click on it, let’s get into some details. And it’s a long one, so trap in.

If you read my non-spoilers review you’ll know that I counted 3 secret female characters rather than the mere one we were promised. I think I know which one Kevin Feige was referring to, because the other two don’t really count. The first of the three that we see is Vanessa A.K.A. Hulkbuster. This one almost definitely doesn’t count as a secret female character so I won’t go much further than saying that “she” was pretty awesome and got some pretty heavy hits into the Hulk.

The character I think Feige was referring to was probably Laura Barton, whilst she’s is a pretty cool character I think my third secret female character is the most likely to have ramifications in future Marvel movies. That character being of course, F.R.I.D.A.Y., Tony’s new AI or UI as he refers to it in the movie. Kerry Condon plays the new UI (I’m sure she’s heard them all, so I’m not even going to go there) I haven’t really seen much that she’s done. In fact, I haven’t seen anything that she’s done. I know, so un-Australian of me that I haven’t seen 2003’s Ned Kelly. I like her Irish accent a lot and she fits into the movie so seamlessly.

Speaking of fitting in seamlessly, Vision and the twins….bloody great. People have been bashing the twins because of their accents, I thought they were fine. They’re from a fictional country, it is fine if their accents aren’t exactly on point. Just while we’re on accents, Klaue…also bloody great. I can’t wait to see him again and to see how Marvel is going to make his ridiculous robotic arm not be ridiculous.

I like that they kinda hinted at Scarlet Witch and Vision’s whole little relationship thing. There’s of course the more on the nose moment when Vision saves her from the falling debris, but there is also a moment just after the Vision is born where Scarlet Witch has this look of longing towards him as he’s talking to Thor outside. It was a nice touch.

By the way, I can only assume that the conversation between Vision and Thor was Thor kindly requesting that Vision doesn’t keep Mjolnir.

“Please let me keep it, I really enjoy having the powers of me.”

Surprise guest appearance from this guy as well

download (8)

Reprising his role of quirky S.H.I.E.L.D. agent that refuses to launch the Helicarriers and almost gets his head blow off by Rumlow from The Winter Soldier. Goes to show that loyalty pays off. Not sure why Agent 13 wasn’t aboard the Helicarrier though, I guess she was too busy getting so much revenge on TV.

One of the most interesting developments in my opinion is Barton’s new born son, Nathaniel. This is super interesting, and could go a couple of ways. My speculation is that this character was Nathaniel Richards now Nathaniel Barton. If you google Nathaniel Richards, as I did, you’ll get a super convoluted backstory for this character and the different characters he becomes including; Kang the Conqueror, the Scarlet Centurion, Rama-Tut, Immortus, Kid Immortus, and the most intriguing of the bunch, Iron Lad.

There has of course been talk of interchanging actors to play tony stark. Personally I’m ok with that notion, but hardcore fans may have a hard time accepting another actor in the role, so why not just introduce a new character altogether. Keeping in mind that this kid is a whole 37 seconds old by the end of this movie, so this most likely could be setting up for potential heroes post Infinity War.

Oh yeah, Quicksilver’s death, I almost forgot. While I, like many others, predicted it from the trailers they still pulled a fast-one on me. I really thought Hawkeye was going to die, since we got so much detail about his family, we got a good look at how much this guy has to loose. Then…nope, see you later Quicksilver.

I could go on for hours, but guess you have to call it at some point, so that’ll do for now. I’m curious what your favourite moments from the movie were, and where you think things may be heading for future Marvel movies.

Like my Facebook page to stay up to date with movie news, editorials, rumours and the occasional video https://www.facebook.com/pages/Zac-Currell/1613367442229598?ref=bookmarks

Follow me on Twitter, where I tweet stuff https://twitter.com/Zacmovies

(Spoilers) Avengers: Age of Ultron (like a lot of spoilers)

Leave a Reply

