Mad Max: Fury Road SPOILERS…review…?

download (12)

If you’ve been following my posts for a while, you know that I was really not looking forward to this movie and could have gone without it all together. The only draw for me before going into it was Nicholas Holt’s performance as Nux, and let’s just say that did not disappoint.

There’s going to be some spoilers here. The way I see it though, if you’re concerned about spoilers for this movie, you’ve probably already seen the movie. Otherwise you’re like me and you needed to hear everything you could to get amped for it. Either way, welcome.

This movie digs into the pure human instinct to survive. Max gives you that little voice over exposition at the start, and it’s like;

“Yeah, sure. We’ll see.”

But you really get that feeling right from the get-go with the gecko…Max eats a live lizard, that’s what I’m trying to say here. Straight off the bat you realise that this place is really F$#ked up and you’re going to see some people do F!@ked up stuff to survive.

Rosie Huntington-Whiteley’s death really through me for a loop. At first I stupidly made the assumption that they can’t kill off the pregnant woman (I told you there’d be spoilers). Then she falls off the war rig, I was like, man…I wasn’t expecting that. Then they show that she’s still alive, barely. Ok, so she’ll survive and just be a little traumatized.

NOPE.

Cut that baby out of her, she’s dead, oh and the baby’s a stillbirth as well. Well…that’s just how things go in this world. Props to George Miller. We don’t really get impactful deaths like that anymore because the general movie going audience these days are just a little oversensitive. Miller’s like;

“No. The audience needs to understand that no one is safe from death here.”

Got to respect that.

Only real criticisms from me would be that as far as acting goes, the wives were kind of hit or miss. And there are more than a few sweeping shots that feel unintentionally clunky, which took a little way from the great visual eye candy on screen.

This really is a blood pumping, “high octane” if you will, 2 hour car chase that doesn’t let up. There are a couple of slow moments, but they’re utilised well to catch your breath. The trailers and clips really don’t do this movie justice, I feel like a big part of that would be that it really should be seen on the big screen. It doesn’t fully deserve the amount of praise that it’s getting, 98% on Rotten Tomatoes is a bit much. That being said, it might be my favourite movie of the year so far. Second to Kingsman.

Like my Facebook page to stay up to date with movie news, editorials, rumours and the occasional video https://www.facebook.com/pages/Zac-Currell/1613367442229598?ref=bookmarks

Follow me on Twitter, where I tweet stuff https://twitter.com/Zacmovies

Mad Max: Fury Road SPOILERS…review…?

Leave a Reply

